skip to content

Virtual Care

Print page icon

Approved by Council: April 2007
Reviewed and Updated: December 2014, June 2022

Companion Resources: Advice to the Profession

 

Policies of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (the “College”) set out expectations for the professional conduct of physicians practising in Ontario. Together with the Practice Guide and relevant legislation and case law, they will be used by the College and its Committees when considering physician practice or conduct.

Within policies, the terms ‘must’ and ‘advised’ are used to articulate the College’s expectations. When ‘advised’ is used, it indicates that physicians can use reasonable discretion when applying this expectation to practice.

Additional information, general advice, and/or best practices can be found in companion resources, such as Advice to the Profession documents.

 

Definitions

Virtual Care: Any interaction between patients and/or members of their circle of care1 that occurs remotely2, using any form of communication or information technology, including telephone, video conferencing, and digital messaging (e.g., secure messaging, emails, and text messaging) with the aim of facilitating or providing patient care.3

 

Policy

Virtual care is the practice of medicine

  1. When providing virtual care, physicians must continue to meet the standard of care and the existing legal and professional obligations that apply to care that is provided in person, including those pertaining to prescribing drugs, medical record-keeping, protecting personal health information, consent to treatment, continuity of care, and charging for insured and uninsured services.4
    1. For example, physicians providing virtual care must conduct any assessments, tests, or investigations that are required in order for them to appropriately provide treatment and must provide or arrange for appropriate follow-up care.5
  2. Physicians must ensure they have the competence to provide care virtually, including to effectively use the relevant technology.

Virtual Care and Patients’ Best Interests

Virtual care is not appropriate in every instance as not all conditions can be effectively treated virtually and not every patient has access to or will be comfortable using virtual care technology.

  1. Physicians must:
    1. use their professional judgment to determine whether virtual care is appropriate in each instance its use is contemplated; and
    2. only provide virtual care if it is in the patient’s best interest to do so. This means only providing virtual care when:
      1. the quality of care will not be compromised; or
      2. the potential benefits of providing virtual care outweigh the risks to the patient (e.g., during contagious disease outbreaks or for a patient whose access might be otherwise limited to the point of risking patient harm).6
  2. When determining whether virtual care is appropriate and in the patient’s best interest (i.e., can meet the conditions set out in 3(b) above), physicians must consider and ensure their decisions reflect the following factors:
    1. the nature of the presenting complaint and care required, including whether a physical examination is required in order to meet the standard of care;
    2. the patient’s existing health status and specific health-care needs;
    3. the patient’s specific circumstances and preferences (e.g., financial hardship, mobility limitations, distance required to travel to an in-person appointment, ability to take time off from work, or any language and/or communication barriers); and
    4. the technology available to the patient and their ability to effectively utilize the technology.
  3. Where clinically appropriate and available, physicians must prioritize patient preference for in-person or virtual care.

Establishing a physician-patient relationship

  1. Physicians providing virtual care must ensure the following is disclosed to all new patients:
    1. the physician’s identity,
    2. the physician’s contact information, and
    3. the physician’s licensure status (i.e., where they hold a medical licence).

Limitations of Virtual Care and Appropriate Action

  1. Physicians must:
    1. be mindful of the limitations of virtual care; and
    2. take appropriate action if, during the course of a virtual encounter it is determined that a patient requires in-person care, including:
      1. informing patients of the need for in-person care and the urgency with which it should be sought; and
      2. providing or assisting patients in accessing appropriate in-person care in a timely manner (e.g., through a coverage arrangement or by directing patients to local in-person options).
  2. Physicians must take appropriate action if, during the course of a virtual encounter the quality of the encounter becomes compromised (e.g., technology fails or security is compromised) and the patient’s best interests will no longer be served by continuing with the virtual encounter, including:
    1. ensuring the patient is followed-up with in a timely manner; and/or
    2. rescheduling the appointment, where necessary.

Appropriate Setting and Technology

  1. Where the virtual encounter is synchronous (i.e., involves real-time interaction with the patient), physicians must confirm the physical setting where the patient is receiving virtual care is appropriate and safe in the circumstances (i.e., taking into account the nature and purpose of the intended interaction).
    1. Physicians must take appropriate action if they determine that it is not appropriate or safe to proceed, such as explaining that they will be unable to proceed at that time and re-scheduling the appointment in a timely manner.
  2. Physicians providing virtual care must use technology that is fit for purpose, can facilitate a quality encounter, and enables the standard of care to be met, including technology that:
    1. allows physicians to gather the information needed to provide the care; and
    2. supports the sharing of high quality and reliable patient health information (e.g., diagnostic or other images that are of sufficient quality).

Maintaining Privacy, Security, and Confidentiality

The legal obligations to protect the privacy and confidentiality of patients’ personal health information (PHI) also exist when delivering virtual care.

  1. All physicians must take reasonable steps to protect PHI, including protection against theft, loss, and unauthorized access, use, and disclosure of PHI.7 When providing virtual care, physicians must:
    1. take reasonable steps to accurately identify the patient (e.g., verify their name and date of birth);8
    2. conduct the encounter in a private setting, where applicable;
    3. disclose the identities of all participants that will be present during the encounter;
    4. ask the patient whether they are in a reasonably private setting and are comfortable discussing or sharing their PHI at that time; and
    5. use secure information and communication technology (e.g., platforms that are protected by encryption), unless it is in the patient’s best interest to do otherwise, taking into account:
      • the nature and purpose of the encounter, including the degree of sensitivity of the PHI being shared;
      • the availability (or lack thereof) of alternative technology;
      • the volume of information and frequency of use;
      • patient expectations; and
      • any emergency or other urgent circumstances.9
  2. If using less secure technology (e.g., unencrypted platforms), physicians must obtain and document the patient’s express (i.e., verbal or written) consent to do so.10

Obtaining Informed Consent for Virtual Care

  1. Physicians must ensure informed consent is obtained from the patient or their substitute decision maker (SDM) for the delivery of care using a virtual modality, which will require informing patients or their SDM of the benefits, limitations, and potential risks of a virtual encounter, including:
    1. those related to privacy (e.g., potential for privacy breaches); and
    2. any clinical limitations to providing virtual care and the potential requirement for in-person follow-up.11
  2. Physicians must obtain informed consent during the initial virtual encounter and each time the benefits, limitations, and potential risks change (e.g., if the virtual modality used changes, or if the nature of the care significantly changes).

CPSO Members Providing Virtual Care Across Borders12

  1. When providing or assisting in the provision of virtual care to a patient in another province, territory, or country, physicians must:
    1. comply with the licensing requirements of that jurisdiction;13 and
    2. ensure they have appropriate liability protection.14

Licensing Requirements when Providing Virtual Care to Ontario Patients 

  1. Physicians providing virtual care to Ontario patients located in Ontario15 must hold a valid and active certificate of registration with the CPSO, unless the provision of virtual care from a physician licensed elsewhere is in the patient’s best interest;16 for example, the care sought is:
    1. not readily available in Ontario (e.g., specialty care);
    2. provided within an existing physician-patient relationship and intended to bridge a gap in care; or
    3. for urgent or emergency assessment or treatment of a patient.17
 

Endnotes

1. For more information about who is included in the circle of care, please see CPSO’s Protecting Personal Health Information policy.

2. Remotely means without physical contact and does not necessarily involve long distances. Patients, patient information and/or physicians may be separated by space (e.g. not in the same physical location) and/or time (e.g. not in real time).

3. This definition was adapted from Shaw, J., Jamieson, T., Agarwal, P., Griffin, B., Wong, I., & Bhatia, R.S. (2018). Virtual care policy recommendation for patient-centred primary care: findings of a consensus policy dialogue using a nominal group technique. Journal of Telemedicine and Telecare, 24(9), 608-615.

4. Relevant legal obligations include privacy and confidentiality requirements as set out in the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004, S.O. 2004, c. 3, Sched. A (hereinafter PHIPA), and General, Ontario Regulation 329/04, enacted under PHIPA, consent requirements in the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 2, Sched. A, and mandatory liability coverage in s. 50.2 of the General By-Law. Professional obligations are set out in CPSO’s Practice Guide and policies.

5. For more information on what it means to meet the standard of care when delivering care virtually, please see the Advice to the Profession: Virtual Care document.

6. In some exceptional circumstances it may be appropriate to provide virtual care even when in-person care would generally be required to meet the standard of care. These circumstances are generally limited to instances where virtual care promotes patient or public safety. In these circumstances the potential benefits of patient or public safety override the potential risk to quality of care.

7. PHIPA, s. 12 (1).

8. What is reasonable will differ if the encounter takes place within the context of an existing physician-patient relationship compared with a new patient.

9. For more information on privacy and security safeguards see the Advice to the Profession: Virtual Care document.

10. For the purposes of this policy, the telephone is considered secure technology.

11. For more information about obtaining informed consent see the Advice to the Profession: Virtual Care document.

12. CPSO maintains jurisdiction over its members regardless of where (i.e., physical location) or how (i.e., in-person or virtually) they practise medicine, and will investigate any complaints made about a member, regardless of whether the member or patient is physically located in Ontario.

13. The medical regulatory authority of the jurisdiction where the physician and/or patient are physically located may also require that physicians hold an appropriate medical licence in that jurisdiction.

14. Physicians can consult the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) and the Ministry of Health for more information on liability protection and billing in these circumstances.

15. For guidance related to treating Ontario patients who are temporarily out of the province, please see the Advice to the Profession: Virtual Care document.

16. This provision does not permit physicians licensed in other jurisdictions to circumvent Ontario licensing requirements and primarily practise in Ontario. It is intended to allow the provision of limited virtual care by physicians licensed in other jurisdictions in circumstances where it will serve a patient’s best interests.

17. CPSO reserves the right to take action against physicians who are providing virtual care to Ontario patients in accordance with Provision #16 if they are not meeting the standard of practice. If CPSO becomes aware of concerns about virtual care provided to an Ontario patient by a physician who is not licensed in Ontario it may share that information with the regulatory authority that has jurisdiction over the member, so that appropriate action can be taken by that regulatory authority.

Passer au contenu principal

Soins virtuels

Icône d’impression de la page

Approuvé par le Conseil : Avril 2007
Révisé et mis à jour : Décembre 2014, juin 2022

Ressources complémentaires : Conseils à la profession

 

Les politiques de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (l’« Ordre ») définissent les attentes relatives à l’éthique professionnelle des médecins qui exercent en Ontario. Ces politiques, ainsi que le Guide sur la pratique et les dispositions législatives et la jurisprudence pertinentes, seront utilisés par l’Ordre et ses comités afin d’évaluer la pratique et la conduite des médecins.

Dans les politiques, les termes « doit » et « recommandé », ainsi que leurs déclinaisons, sont utilisés pour exprimer les attentes de l’Ordre. Quand le terme « recommandé » est utilisé, les médecins peuvent faire preuve de discernement pour appliquer ou non cette pratique.

On trouvera, dans les ressources complémentaires, d’autres renseignements, des conseils généraux et des pratiques exemplaires, par exemple sous forme de documents de conseils à la profession.

 

Définitions

Soins virtuels : Toute interaction entre les patients ou les membres de leur cercle de soins1 qui se produit à distance2 en utilisant toute forme de technologie de communication ou d’information, y compris le téléphone, la vidéoconférence et la messagerie numérique (p. ex., la messagerie sécurisée, les courriels et les messages texte) dans le but de faciliter ou de fournir des soins aux patients.3

 

Politique

Les soins virtuels sont l’exercice de la médecine

  1. Lorsqu’ils fournissent des soins virtuels, les médecins doivent continuer à respecter la norme de soins et les obligations légales et professionnelles existantes qui s’appliquent aux soins fournis en personne, notamment celles relatives à la prescription de médicaments, à la tenue des dossiers médicaux, à la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, au consentement au traitement, à la continuité des soins et à la facturation des services assurés et non assurés.4
    1. Par exemple, les médecins qui fournissent des soins virtuels doivent effectuer toutes les évaluations, tous les tests ou toutes les investigations nécessaires pour pouvoir fournir un traitement approprié et doivent fournir ou organiser des soins de suivi appropriés.5
  2. Les médecins doivent s’assurer qu’ils ont les compétences nécessaires pour fournir des soins virtuels, y compris pour utiliser efficacement les technologies pertinentes.

Soins virtuels et intérêt des patients

Les soins virtuels ne sont pas appropriés dans tous les cas, car les problèmes ne peuvent pas tous être traités efficacement de manière virtuelle et les patients n’ont pas tous accès à la technologie des soins virtuels ou ne sont pas tous à l’aise avec cela.

  1. Les médecins doivent :
    1. faire preuve de jugement professionnel pour déterminer si les soins virtuels sont appropriés dans chaque cas où leur utilisation est envisagée;
    2. fournir des soins virtuels que s’il est dans l’intérêt du patient de le faire. Cela signifie qu’il ne faut fournir des soins virtuels que lorsque :
      1. la qualité des soins ne sera pas compromise;
      2. les avantages potentiels de la prestation de soins virtuels l’emportent sur les risques pour le patient (p. ex., lors d’éclosions de maladies contagieuses ou pour un patient dont l’accès pourrait être autrement limité au point de risquer de lui nuire).6
  2. Lorsqu’ils déterminent si les soins virtuels sont appropriés et dans l’intérêt du patient (c’est-à-dire s’ils peuvent répondre aux conditions énoncées au point 3(b) ci-dessus), les médecins doivent prendre en considération les facteurs suivants et s’assurer que leurs décisions en tiennent compte :
    1. la nature du motif de la consultation et les soins requis, y compris si un examen physique est nécessaire pour respecter la norme de soins;
    2. l’état de santé actuel du patient et ses besoins précis en matière de soins de santé;
    3. les circonstances et les préférences particulières du patient (p. ex., difficultés financières, limitations de mobilité, distance à parcourir pour se rendre à un rendez-vous en personne, capacité de s’absenter du travail ou toute barrière linguistique ou de communication);
    4. la technologie dont dispose le patient et sa capacité à l’utiliser de façon efficace.
  3. Lorsque cela est approprié sur le plan clinique et disponible, les médecins doivent accorder la priorité à la préférence du patient pour les soins en personne ou virtuels.

Établissement d’une relation médecin-patient

  1. Les médecins qui fournissent des soins virtuels doivent s’assurer que les renseignements suivants sont fournis à tous les nouveaux patients :
    1. l’identité du médecin,
    2. les coordonnées du médecin,
    3. le statut d’autorisation d’exercer du médecin (c’est-à-dire le lieu où il est titulaire d’un permis d’exercer la médecine).

Limites des soins virtuels et mesures à prendre

  1. Les médecins doivent :
    1. être conscients des limites des soins virtuels;
    2. prendre les mesures appropriées si, au cours d’une rencontre virtuelle, on détermine qu’un patient a besoin de soins en personne, y compris :
      1. en informant les patients de la nécessité de recevoir des soins en personne et de l’urgence de les demander;
      2. en fournissant des soins en personne appropriés en temps opportun ou en aidant le patient à y accéder (p. ex., par l’entremise de dispositions de couverture ou en orientant les patients vers des options locales de soins en personne).
  2. Les médecins doivent prendre les mesures appropriées si, au cours d’une rencontre virtuelle, la qualité de la rencontre est compromise (p. ex., en cas de défaillance de la technologie ou d’atteinte à la sécurité) et que la poursuite de la rencontre virtuelle ne sert plus les intérêts du patient, notamment :
    1. en s’assurant que le patient fait l’objet d’un suivi en temps voulu;
    2. en replanifiant le rendez-vous, au besoin.

Endroit et technologie appropriés

  1. Lorsque la rencontre virtuelle est synchrone (c’est-à-dire qu’elle implique une interaction en temps réel avec le patient), les médecins doivent confirmer que le lieu physique dans lequel le patient reçoit les soins virtuels est approprié et sécuritaire dans les circonstances (c’est-à-dire en tenant compte de la nature et du but de l’interaction prévue).
    1. Les médecins doivent prendre les mesures appropriées s’ils déterminent qu’il n’est pas approprié ou sécuritaire de procéder, par exemple en expliquant qu’ils ne pourront pas procéder à ce moment-là et en replanifiant le rendez-vous le plus rapidement possible.
  2. Les médecins qui fournissent des soins virtuels doivent utiliser une technologie adaptée à l’usage prévu, qui peut faciliter une rencontre de qualité et qui permet de respecter la norme de soins, y compris une technologie qui :
    1. permet aux médecins de recueillir les renseignements nécessaires à la prestation des soins;
    2. favorise la transmission de renseignements fiables et de haute qualité sur la santé des patients (p. ex., des images diagnostiques ou autres d’une qualité suffisante).

Maintien de la vie privée, de la sécurité et de la confidentialité

Les obligations légales de protection de la vie privée et de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé (RPS) des patients existent également lors de la prestation de soins virtuels.

  1. Tous les médecins doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables pour protéger les RPS, y compris la protection contre le vol, la perte, l’accès non autorisé, l’utilisation et la divulgation des RPS.7 Lorsqu’ils fournissent des soins virtuels, les médecins doivent :
    1. prendre des mesures raisonnables pour identifier avec précision le patient (p. ex., en vérifiant son nom et sa date de naissance);8
    2. en tenant la rencontre dans un lieu privé, le cas échéant;
    3. en divulguant l’identité de tous les participants qui seront présents lors de la rencontre;
    4. en demandant au patient s’il se trouve dans un endroit raisonnablement privé et s’il est à l’aise pour discuter de ses RPS ou les partager à ce moment-là;
    5. en utilisant des technologies d’information et de communication sécurisées (p. ex., des plateformes protégées par un système de cryptage), à moins qu’il ne soit dans l’intérêt du patient d’agir autrement, compte tenu des éléments suivants :
      • la nature et le but de la rencontre, y compris le degré de sensibilité des RPS partagées;
      • la disponibilité (ou l’absence de disponibilité) de technologies de remplacement;
      • le volume de renseignements et la fréquence d’utilisation;
      • les attentes des patients;
      • toute situation urgente.9
  2. En cas d’utilisation d’une technologie moins sécuritaire (p. ex., des plateformes non cryptées), les médecins doivent obtenir et documenter le consentement explicite (c’est-à-dire verbal ou écrit) du patient.10

Obtention du consentement éclairé pour les soins virtuels

  1. Les médecins doivent s’assurer que le consentement éclairé du patient ou de son mandataire spécial est obtenu pour la prestation de soins à l’aide d’une modalité virtuelle, ce qui nécessitera d’informer les patients ou leur mandataire spécial des avantages, des limites et des risques d’une rencontre virtuelle, notamment :
    1. celles liées à la protection de la vie privée (p. ex., le risque d’atteinte à la vie privée); et
    2. les limites cliniques éventuelles de la prestation de soins virtuels et la nécessité éventuelle d’un suivi en personne.11
  2. Les médecins doivent obtenir un consentement éclairé lors de la première rencontre virtuelle et chaque fois que les avantages, les limites et les risques changent (p. ex., en cas de changement à la modalité virtuelle ou de changement important à nature des soins).

Les membres de l’OMCO fournissent des soins virtuels au-delà des frontières12

  1. Lorsqu’ils fournissent ou aident à fournir des soins virtuels à un patient dans une autre province, un autre territoire ou un autre pays, les médecins doivent :
    1. se conformer aux exigences en matière de permis de cet endroit;13
    2. s’assurer qu’ils disposent d’une couverture appropriée en matière de responsabilité.14

Exigences en matière de permis pour la prestation de soins virtuels aux patients de l’Ontario 

  1. Les médecins qui fournissent des soins virtuels à des patients de l’Ontario situés en Ontario15 doivent détenir un certificat d’inscription valide et actif auprès de l’OMCO, à moins que la prestation de soins virtuels par un médecin titulaire d’un permis d’exercice d’un autre endroit soit dans l’intérêt du patient;16 par exemple, les soins recherchés :
    1. ne sont pas facilement accessibles en Ontario (p. ex., les soins spécialisés);
    2. sont fournis dans le cadre d’une relation médecin-patient existante et sont destinés à combler une lacune dans les soins;
    3. sont destinés à une évaluation ou un traitement urgent d’un patient.17
 

Notes de fin

1. Pour en savoir plus sur les personnes qui font partie du cercle de soins, veuillez consulter la politique de l’OMCO sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé.

2. À distance signifie sans contact physique et n’implique pas nécessairement de longues distances. Les patients, les renseignements sur les patients et les médecins peuvent être séparés par l’espace (p. ex., pas dans le même lieu physique) ou le temps (p. ex., pas en temps réel).

3. Cette définition a été adaptée de Shaw, J., Jamieson, T., Agarwal, P., Griffin, B., Wong, I. et Bhatia, R.S. (2018). Virtual care policy recommendation for patient-centred primary care: findings of a consensus policy dialogue using a nominal group technique. Journal of Telemedicine and Telecare, 24(9), 608-615.

4. Les obligations juridiques pertinentes comprennent les exigences en matière de vie privée et de confidentialité énoncées dans la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, L.O. 2004, chap. 3, annexe A (ci-après la LPRPS), et le Règlement de l’Ontario 329/04, Dispositions générales, promulgué en vertu de la LPRPS, les exigences en matière de consentement énoncées dans la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, L.O. 1996, chap. 2, annexe A, et la couverture obligatoire de la responsabilité dans l’art. 50.2 du Règlement général. Les obligations professionnelles sont énoncées dans le Guide de pratique et les politiques de l’OMCO.

5. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce que signifie le respect de la norme de soins lors de la prestation de soins virtuels, veuillez consulter le document Conseils à la profession : Soins virtuels.

6. Dans certaines situations exceptionnelles, il peut être approprié de fournir des soins virtuels même lorsque des soins en personne seraient généralement nécessaires pour respecter la norme de soins. Ces situations sont généralement limitées aux cas où les soins virtuels favorisent la sécurité du patient ou du public. Dans ces circonstances, les avantages potentiels de la sécurité du patient ou du public l’emportent sur le risque pour la qualité des soins.

7. LPRPS, par. 12 (1).

8. Ce qui est raisonnable sera différent si la rencontre a lieu dans le contexte d’une relation médecin-patient existante par rapport à un nouveau patient.

9. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les mesures de protection de la vie privée et de la sécurité, voir le document Conseils à la profession : Soins virtuels.

10. Aux fins de la présente politique, le téléphone est considéré comme une technologie sécurisée.

11. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’obtention du consentement éclairé, voir le document Conseils à la profession : Soins virtuels.

12. L’OMCO a compétence sur ses membres, quels que soient l’endroit (c.-à-d. l’emplacement physique) et la façon (c.-à-d. en personne ou virtuellement) dont ils exercent la médecine, et il enquêtera sur toute plainte déposée contre un membre, que le membre ou le patient se trouve physiquement en Ontario ou non.

13. L’organisme de réglementation médicale du territoire de compétence où se trouvent physiquement le médecin ou le patient peut également exiger que les médecins soient titulaires d’un permis approprié d’exercer la médecine dans ce territoire.

14. Les médecins peuvent consulter l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) et le ministère de la Santé pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la couverture de la responsabilité et la facturation dans ces circonstances.

15. Pour obtenir des conseils sur le traitement des patients ontariens qui se trouvent temporairement hors de la province, veuillez consulter le document Conseils à la profession : Soins virtuels.

16. Cette disposition ne permet pas aux médecins qui sont titulaires d’un permis d’un autre endroit de contourner les exigences de l’Ontario en matière de permis et d’exercer principalement en Ontario. Elle vise à permettre la prestation de soins virtuels limités par des médecins titulaires d’un permis d’exercice d’un autre endroit dans les cas où cela sert les intérêts du patient.

17. L’OMCO se réserve le droit de prendre des mesures à l’encontre des médecins qui fournissent des soins virtuels à des patients de l’Ontario conformément à la disposition no16 s’ils ne respectent pas la norme d’exercice. Si l’OMCO prend connaissance de préoccupations concernant les soins virtuels fournis à un patient de l’Ontario par un médecin qui n’est pas titulaire d’un permis en Ontario, il peut transmettre ces renseignements à l’organisme de réglementation qui a compétence sur le membre afin qu’il prenne les mesures appropriées.