skip to content


Learn about the governing board of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario

Print page icon

The Council is the CPSO’s governing body. It is responsible for setting strategic direction, developing policies and providing oversight of the CPSO’s performance. The Regulated Health Professions Actsays it must consist of 32 to 34 members, including:

  • 16 physicians elected by their peers on a geographical basis every three years; 
  • three physicians appointed from among the six faculties of medicine (at Western University, McMaster University, University of Toronto, Queen's University, University of Ottawa, and the Northern Ontario School of Medicine);
  • 13 to 15 public members appointed by the provincial government for terms decided by the government. 

Both physician faculty members and public members may be re-appointed at the end of their terms. The CPSO president is elected from and by Council, and serves a one-year term.

Council members sit on one or more CPSO committees. Each committee has specific functions, most of which are governed by provincial legislation. See Council Committees.

Term of office: maximum of three years. Councillors may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four per year.

For more information about our Council or committees, please refer to the Governance Process Manual.